Must-Have Makeup Favourites 2021

Throughout 2021, I feel I have tried many makeup products with a focus on base and cheek products. This year was the year I (along with the rest of the internet) dabbled in cream blush and contour, as well as switching up my foundation. Lighter, more glowy makeup seemed to be popping up all over TikTok, and it looks like we can continue to enjoy it well into the new year.

BASE

Starting with the Laura Mercier Tinted Moisturizer Oil Free – Broad Spectrum SPF 20, a product that was on my wishlist for so long! I got the oil-free version to prevent my skin from breaking out (which I am prone to). Its light, creamy texture blurs your skin! It looks and feels amazing, lasts all day long and looks really healthy on the skin. It’s definitely not drying or matte (even though it is an oil-free formula- result!). I will happily re-purchase this over and over again.

To conceal, I’ve really not been a fan of super thick or heavy concealer. Having inherited dark circles, I always thought thicker concealer meant more coverage, but I would find those formulas would crease under my eyes. That’s why I love the Kiko Skin Tone Concealer which is a super-thin, serum-like consistency but it is pigmented, hydrating and long-lasting. I was told by the lovely Kiko Beauty Advisor that the trick with this concealer is to press it into the skin rather than swipe it on. So far so good! My only gripe is that I wish there was more of it, as it is a small tube.

I have been blending my base products in with the Real Techniques Seamless Complexion Brush which is the ultimate brush. Its slanted bristles make fit the face perfectly. Somewhere between a dense buffer and a powder brush, this super-soft bristle is a multi-tasker and blends foundation, concealer and even cream bronzer/blush like a dream. It’s also easy to clean as the bristles aren’t super dense so makeup doesn’t get trapped between the bristles. I’ve tried so many brushes over the years and nothing compares!

After hearing it was a dupe for the Charlotte Tilbury Airbrush Flawless Finish Powder, I bought the No7 Airbrush Away Finishing Powder which had amazing reviews online. I have always gone back and forth between using powder and then not wanting to use it. I often feel conflicted and question whether it really makes much of a difference to my skin. I’ve never been super into powders for this very reason and after using the Rimmel Stay Matte Powder on and off for years, I made the switch to the No7 one. I find it blends beautifully, has a finer texture and looks undetectable on the skin.

CHEEKS

I was nervous to try cream blush and bronzer for the first time but luckily, Clinique makes it easy. Their Clinique Chubby Stick Sculpting Contour is the perfect bronzey shade and super easy to apply and blendable. The Clinique Chubby Stick Cheek Colour Balm gives the prettiest flush of colour too. For a full review click here.

I’ve always avoided blush as I found it made my cheeks look rounder than they are. After seeing blush truly take off in the past year, I felt more confident to branch out and I’m glad I did! Now I don’t know how I lived without it and cringe at my juvenile makeup techniques. The MILANI BAKED BLUSH in the shade ‘Luminoso’ gives me a beautiful glowy flush. Very natural-looking, this blush is so gorgeous, especially when applied to a light base to achieve that “no-makeup-makeup” look.

The MAC EXTRA DIMENSION SKINFINISH in shade Whisper of Gilt gives a buildable glow. As an avid fan of Becca’s Champagne Pop highlight, which was blindingly beautiful, I’ve had to seek other alternatives since their closure last year. Heartbreak aside, this MAC one looks amazing and gives a lit-from-within glow. I also have been using this on my eyes for a golden subtle shimmer which looks beautiful in the summer.

EYES

The Estée Lauder Sumptuous Extreme Mascara has been the best mascara at providing my lashes with volume and length. I feel I have very thin eyelashes, despite being dark they don’t have the fullness I long for. Luckily the Sumptuous Extreme fixes that! I love that it is easy to remove with a cleanser with no need for harsh rubbing at my eyes. As an #EsteeBeautyAdvisor, I would highly recommend this mascara if you want to add va-va-voom to your lashes.

LIPS

I’m always on the hunt for that day to night lipstick. MAC’s Velvet Teddy has been my favourite for a long time but on a trip to New York City, I purchased MAC MATTE LIPSTICK in Taupe whilst browsing in Bloomingdale’s. After sadly losing the beautiful shade, I re-purchased it and it was just as stunning as I remember. With MAC’s classic matte finish, it glides on so beautifully without feeling dry at all. The shade is not too brown or nude but somewhere in-between. It can look like a pretty wash of colour during the day and it can be built up to be a more intense, rich lip for the night.

I love pairing this lipstick with the NYX Professional Makeup Slim Lip Pencil Natural which glides on so easily and looks amazing with the Kiko 3d Hydra Lipgloss on top which gives you the juiciest look ever. I cannot express how incredible this lipgloss is and so affordable too! It makes your lips look like glass and contains hyaluronic acid which makes them look plump without the tingling sensation. This is by no means a “plumping gloss” that irritates the skin to make your lips swell, this simply provides hydration, making your lips look full and smooth.

Let me know what your fave products were!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started