Makeup No-Buy 2024

I saw this TikTok by @mothermegi at the end of 2023 stating that she was on a makeup no-buy for the year ahead with many others jumping on the #PanThatPalette and the #Deinfluencing trends. Finally, I feel we are seeing a positive trend to improve the issue of overconsumption in cosmetics. For the past couple of years, I have tried to declutter my cosmetics as I have also not been a conscious consumer until now. The TikTok really made me wonder, how much do we have to consume for it to be too much?

We are constantly being told by influencers that we “NEED this product” and to “run don’t walk” to get the latest thing because it will “change your life!”. Most of the time we will buy it, use it a few times, and then look for the next best thing (guilty!), but the products that are “life-changing” we tend to repurchase again and again because we know they work for us.

Using up what I already have before buying anything new will be my aim for this year and if I get the urge to buy anything new, I’ll see if I have anything similar in my collection already or simply switch up my products so it feels like I’m using something new! Focusing on a few products at one time can help so you feel like you’ve made more progress, then once something is finished, shop your stash until all the products in that category have run out.

Don’t get me wrong, I still like makeup and skincare but I am also not a makeup artist, I am just a makeup girly. Brb I’m off to watch a makeup tutorial*.

(*and not buy anything).

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started